Canada, Québec not included as there are some specific partnership programs between Québec and France

In 2018, the Embassy of France in Canada implemented a two-way mobility program for researchers between France and Canada. That same year, Donna Strickland (University of Waterloo, Canada) and Gérard Mourou (Ecole polytechnique, CNRS – France) received the Nobel Prize in Physics, the highest scientific distinction. This prize was awarded jointly to them for their collaborative work on lasers, and more specifically on “frequency drift amplification”. As the objective of the Embassy’s mobility program is to initiate scientific partnerships between French and Canadian teams, it seemed appropriate to refer, in its title, to these two prestigious researchers and their successful collaboration. The Embassy of France in Canada thanks Professors Donna Strickland and Gérard Mourou for their patronage and we wish all the laureates of this call for projects to follow in their footsteps!

The title of this program refers to two physicists; however, it is open to all researchers regardless of their field of research.



Canadian or French researchers affiliated to laboratories/ departments which are part of Canadian or French University/ Research Centre

 Postdoc fellows are also eligible to apply


  • 1 return economy-class flight Canada- France or France-Canada
  • A contribution towards subsistence costs (per diem, for a maximum of three nights)

Please send your application (PDF): Application Form, letter of invitation from the host institution, short CV to:

[email protected]

For any information, same email address or Tel: +1 613-562-3794

The call for applications is closed. Results will be available on March 27th.